[A]lso known as the 4th or Heart Chakra, the Anahata is our energy center from which love, joy, happiness, and compassion emanate from. It also allows us to feel sorrow, sadness, anger, and lust, all of which are feelings of the lower heart chakra – but essential in understanding ourselves in this World, so that we may overcome them and move to the Higher Heart, where Pure, Unconditional Love exists.


It is the chakra of yang, or positive energy, connecting the lower chakras to the higher ones and is very important in your spiritual healing and evolutional development. When it is open fully, the Heart Chakra becomes what the Buddhists call Mahakaruna, A Channel for Universal Compassion – Our True Self. It is here where we invite this Infinite Love to flow through us, allowing it to heal ourselves and others. The lesson of the Heart is that we first must Love and Accept ourselves before we can Love Others.

When your heart chakra is in balance:

You will feel a great compassion for all living creatures, and will recognize their amazing intelligence! You will be kind, caring, understand, joyous and outgoing, feeling completely at ease with yourself and the people in your life. You will understand others and accept them for who they are; you will not judge or be critical of their actions. Spending time alone is something you do not mind, and you are not rushing into one relationship after another, in fact, you would rather wait for the “right” one to come to you – because you know it will come to you when the time is right.

Over-active Heart Chakra:

If your heart chakra is over-active you will be ruled by your emotions; sadness, anger, grief, despair, angry baby, over emotional heart chakragreediness and happiness will come over you with no or little control. You may be manipulative, over critical, and judgmental of yourself and others. Your love may have conditions, “I will only love you if you are this way….” and you are more likely than not a “people pleaser”, afraid that you will not be liked or accepted by others around you. You may find yourself in a relationship with a partner where you are always giving but not receiving, always forgiving, and “cleaning up” after them, whether it be emotionally, or physically. Co-dependancy can result from this, and you may find it hard to let go, of any relationship, that no longer serves your Highest Good.

Under-active Heart Chakra:simon cowell negative outlook, under active heart chakra

When your heart chakra is under-active you will probably be very negative in your thinking and may find it very difficult to keep a positive outlook on life. You may feel unloved, unworthy and unappreciated, and this will manifest in the world around you, only confirming these “beliefs” about yourself. It is very likely that with an under-active chakra that you’re choosing the people you love, and the people you do not love. You have a hard time trusting others, and may have a difficult time “letting” them in, keeping yourself at a distance.

Physical Symptoms of a Heart Chakra Imbalance:

If you have an imbalanced heart chakra you may experience the following symptoms that have manifested in your body: Heart Palpitations, chest pain, poor circulation, high/low blood pressure, and in more serious cases, heart attack.

Healing the Anahata:

There are many ways one can begin to balance their Chakras, below you will find several useful methods and a video that includes sound, colour and positive affirmations that pertain to the Anahata!!

Affirmation for the Heart Chakra:

Love is the answer to everything. I am an infinite being full of Divine Love, which I give freely and openly accept from others!

Colour of the Heart Chakra:

heart chakra symbolThe heart chakra is associated with the colour green. Picturing the colour green in the center of your chest will begin to balance it. Additionally, lighting green candles and having pictures of the green found in nature surrounding you will help your heart feel at ease, bringing balance.

Crystal Therapy for the Heart Chakra:

Rose Quartz, Jade, Green Aventurine, Emerald, Green Tourmaline, Malachite, Rhodochrosite, Chrysoprase

Aromatherapy/Essential Oils for the Heart Chakra:

Angelica, Marjoram, Hyssop, Lavender, Neroli, Melissa, Rose, Chamomile, Ylang-ylang, Jasmine, Sandalwood, Rosemary, and Frankincense

Healing the Heart Chakra with Nature:green grass, healing heart chakra with nature

The Heart chakra’s element is air – sitting outside and feeling the breeze upon your skin, allowing your heart to feel it can be very beneficial. Because the colour green is around us in the trees and in the grass, going out walking, or laying in the grass and allowing the heart to feel it, can begin to bring it into balance!

Sound Therapy for the Heart Chakra:

The Heart Chakra resonates to the note “B”, chanting YAM in this note will begin to balance it!