Here you will find the traditional Reiki symbols used in the Usui system of Natural Healing!

There are many other non-traditional symbols that you will find as you practice Reiki. The following symbols below are the traditional symbols that have their beginning in the Usui Reiki lineage. You will learn these symbols, and how to draw them properly when you receive your Level 2 and Master Attunement.

We would like to recommend that before using these symbols, if you are not already, that you be attuned to Reiki Level 2 or be a Master. These symbols are considered sacred in the Reiki tradition and are believed that they should only be taught to Reiki students who will learn how to use them properly.

The Cho-Ku-Rei

The Cho-ku-rei is the first symbol you will learn when you receive your Level 2 attunement in Usui Reiki. In the West, we are (generally) taught that the cho-ku-rei is the “power symbol” and that we use it whenever we need extra healing in certain areas. We have taken a lot of the meaning from these symbols in order to make learning them easier, instead of becoming familiar with the energy and getting to know them in a sense. There are many interpretations of what the meaning behind this symbol is, and many ways you can use it for. If you wish to learn more about the Cho-ku-rei, please click here.

The Sei-Hei-Ki

The Sei-hei-ki is another symbol that you will learn when you receive your Level 2 attunement in Usui Reiki. It is the Emotional  (Mental) symbol and is used when emotional healing is needed. It is used to restore the balance between the mental and emotional aspects of our psyche, as both effect each other. For more detailed information on the sei-hei-ki, please click here.

The Hon-Sha-Ze-Sho-Nen

Quite the mouthful! You will also learn the Hon-sha-ze-sho-nen after receiving your Level 2 attunement in Usui Reiki. It is known as the “Distance” symbol that will be able to connect you to a person you wish to give distance reiki healing to. It’s true meaning is “Oneness” – and is certainly not limited to distance sessions. It will allow you to become one with the person you are healing, allowing you to heal on a personal level, to allow you to have true compassion. For more information on the Hon-sha-ze-sho-nen, please click here.

The Dai-Ko-Myo

The Dai-ko-myo is known as the “Master” symbol and should only be used by those practicing with their Master’s Degree. For more information on the Dai-ko-myo, please click here.

The Raku

The Raku is the final symbol learned in Usui Reiki. It is the symbol that is used to finish the attunement, sealing the energy into the 7 Chakras. It is used to ground both the practitioner and the receiver during this process, as well as during healing sessions.  For more information regarding the Raku, please click here.